Another school year almost done for the children I take care of.  They are so ready.  Monday is either a field day, depending on which school, or end-of-the-year party day.  By my count they have all had several of these final parties.  Thursday is early dismissal.  I’m not sure why they are going to school as early means be dismissed 2.5 hours after they arrived. Then starts summer.

I would be less than honest if I didn’t admit I am ready for a change of pace.  Ready to not be owned by the ridiculous schedule these kids, and I, are supposed to keep.  I hope it means less driving.  If it involves enough time for them to get bored I’ll be ecstatic.  I believe boredom, which is in short supply in our over scheduled life, actually leads to creativity.

It is a battle not to rush in to the “I’m bored” fray with a quick suggestion or offer an activity for them.  But the truth is, imaginations sometimes need boredom to spur them on.  Imaginations take root in the act of filling empty time.  These days, empty time is not offered, or appreciated.  It is a battle to tell them to get off their electronics because it is so peaceful when they are buried in their screens.  However, my better angels struggle to sift through the complaining and whining of taking away screen time.

One thing that doesn’t change is the, 30 minutes of reading every day, rule.  For some, although they grumble, they soon lose themselves in a good book and I hear, “my timer went off but can I read another chapter?”  Do they really imagine I would say no to that?

For the child who dislikes reading it is a struggle.  It is stubborn meets stubborn.  I search for books that might catch her interest.  She likes real life stories, where people overcome terrible things.  Sometimes I think if she’d just not buck the reading rule, she would fine she likes reading.  Of course that would mean changing her long-standing litany  of not liking reading.  Every once in a while I hit it.  She dives into a book, can’t put it down and reads beyond the 30 minutes.  Those are the days that keep me searching for the book she’ll love.  It makes me sad when any child doesn’t like reading.

Because as I tell them, “you can never be bored or lonely if you like to read.”  Here’s hoping for long, lazy, bored days and just the right book to fill the void.

Happy summer!