What do you say the day after?  How many of you had trouble sleeping last night with those images in my head?  I did.  I keep feeling like I’m in some weird alternate universe and I can’t get home.

Has America always been like this?  Have I been delusional that we were a country of moral integrity (not perfect, I quickly say)?  That we were a nation of immigrants not white supremacists?  That we accepted diversity and valued the rights of all instead of some?  Is this what making America great again looks like?

The hatred, bigotry, the violence is incredible.  That of course is my view from the privilege I have always lived in.  And somehow I just didn’t get my own privilege.   Have I felt discriminated against?  Yes, by virtue of being a woman.  But no one has ever threatened me with gas chambers or hurled racial epitaphs at me.  I move freely about my country.  I enjoy a comfortable life.  I have a good job and enough money for basics…and more.

Our Tweeter-in-chief was silent for most of the day.  He who tweets hateful things daily was silent in the face of this.  When he finally did speak he talked about hate “from many sides.”  He, of the hate filled tweets, couldn’t call out the white supremacists.  His aides are busy trying to say he called out all hate in the strongest terms.  No.  No he did not.  And frankly this wasn’t a day for all hate…it was a day to react to what we had all seen on our TV’s.  Young men with torches parading on a peaceful college campus.  Young men who came dressed in riot gear and prepared for what they were about to unleash.  A person who thought the way to solve anything was to drive his car into a crowd of pedestrians.  Lord have mercy.

I think this is a turning point for my country.  Either we stand up, stand for, the things we always thought this country was about, or we continue down dark road the likes of which we have never seen.

Can you see what is happening?  Can we, do we have the will to stop it?

Dear Lord have mercy on us all.