Packing my suitcase, again

Seeing the sad face of my cat, who knows my lap won’t be available for “cat naps” for awhile

Trying to remember all the ” must-do” things, on my few days at home

Slowest internet known to man (or woman)

Feeling, somewhat, cut off from friends and family

Living with children 24/7, instead of having my usual, quiet, alone time

Trying to get things done via computer with the slowest internet known to man (or woman)

Another road trip…3.5 hours up….3.5-4 hours back

The frustration of summer road construction too often

But it is also…

Sleeping in “my” blue room.  Two walls of windows with a treehouse-like feel

Lounging by the pool and calling it “work”

Meals on the screened in porch

Endless variations of sunsets…trees silhouetted against the dying glow

The views of the constantly changing lake water…from white caps to a glassy smoothness

The moments with any given child, when we play a game or read a book, snuggled on my big bed

The hush of the dusk, children in bed, the endless sunset, reflected off  the water
The days are fleeting.  The scenery will change.

(Shhh…there are already a few brash red leaves in one of the lakeside trees.  I try not to notice…)

Summer, stay a bit longer.