I am a work in progress…or at least my move is.

I still have “stuff” in two places…but not as much.

I now/still own two places…nerve wracking on the best of days.

The cat seems to have settled in…just before we pack up and go to Michigan for Thanksgiving.

Someday my new kitchen will be a lovely place to bake…and someday I will discover which box holds the flour and sugar necessary for any good baking.

I often think it would be easier to go out and buy (fill in the blank) rather that search the boxes for it.

The post office sent my ‘change of address’ notification to my new address…but my mail is being forwarded to my new neighbor across the street.  Sweet.

My new neighbor across the street brought me my mail and a bottle of wine…I don’t drink but it was nice of him/them.  It will be nicer when they don’t have to deliver my forwarded mail every day…in the snow and cold.

Moving, in theory, should be an opportunity to sort and downsize…unless you move comes up in six weeks and then you just box it all and hope for some time to sort on the other end.

It is good to move to a place where the nearest Goodwill drop off center in a few blocks away.

Moving is exhausting.

Moving is disorienting.

Moving is the pits when you lived in your former home for 15 years.

And now for the upside:  this morning with a windchill of -1 I got in my car, in my attached garage and drove 5 min. to work.  Yes, f.i.v.e. minutes to work.  Tonight with the windchill down to -8 I drove home (traffic was bad, it took 8 minutes) and drove into my attached garage and walked into my house.  When all my things are arranged, just so, this will be home and my commute to work will continue to be very, very short.

Can I have an “amen” to that?